Don’t Be a Weekend Warrior

elderly woman exercisingI have always liked to walk, but when Mark and I joined a gym, I decided to ramp up the intensity of my workouts. The gym had four racquetball courts and it was fun to watch the players serve back and forth. We decided to give it a try. We staked out a court and the game began. I thought I was doing very well for being in my 50’s, and I was making all kinds of leaps and turns as I returned the serve.

All was well until the next morning when my knee was absolutely killing me. A trip to the orthopedist was a necessity and my test results showed that I had strained my anterior cruciate ligament(ACL). I probably should have listened to my mother’s sage words of advice: “You’re too old to be playing racquetball.”

Don’t be a weekend warrior. When we hit the late 40’s and beyond, our focus should be on low impact exercise. Check out these 9 low impact exercises from the Huffington Post. Don’t be afraid to try out more than one for variety. The more you enjoy exercising, the longer you will stick with it and experience the benefits.

Always practice safety first. Check with your doctor before beginning an exercise program. This is particularly important if you have diabetes, or heart disease.

Leave a Reply

